The Airplane Chair

L'Aviation bergère chair.jpgMy friend Vincent sent me this photo with a line or two accompanying it, practically daring me not to go ahead and write 2,000 words on the subject because he feels I am OCD-like.

To clarify, I write a lot because I feel—when I search for information on the Internet—it should provide enough information so that any question I can come up with on the subject matter should be found there.

Nothing irks me more than to read four inches of copy on-line or in a magazine or newspaper, and realize that basic information was left out.

Having worked in the newspaper industry and currently work in the magazine industry, I understand that sometimes there really is not enough room for every factoid.

But on-line? That’s just lazy reporting or lazy writing.

So I try and find out as much about a topic as I can, knowing that if I can ask a question and find the answer wanting, then so can you. Why would I do that to anyone else? That would just be hypocritical.

So… what we have here is something called L’Aviation bergere.

We can all figure out that it’s the Aviation – something…

But what the heck is a bergere?

It is, according to Wikipedia, a bergere is an enclosed, upholstered French armchair,  featuring an upholstered back and armrests on upholstered frames—but the framing is exposed (wood is showing).

L’Aviation bergère was designed in 1923 by Paul Follot, after a similar design by Robert Bonfils (1886-1972).

It was manufactured Tapisserie des Gobelins in Paris, with a wood frame constructed by L’École Boulle of Paris.

The chair is made of gilt wood, wool and silk upholstery.

On loan from the Mobilier National (Paris), the chair is on loan to the Cooper Hewitt Museum, in Room 206, as part of its The Jazz Age: American Style in the 1920s.

Photo credit: {{cite web |url=https://collection.cooperhewitt.org/objects/907218809/ |title=Bergere, L’Aviation, 1922–25 |author=Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum |accessdate=11 August 2017 |publisher=Smithsonian Institution}}</ref>

But since the link is messy, let me just directly link you back Cooper Hewitt and the Smithsonian Design Musiem: https://collection.cooperhewitt.org/objects/907218809/images/

What does this have to do with pioneers of aviation? Not much…

I can’t even say that people everywhere were interested in the industry – some were, but most weren’t.

While I wouldn’t find it very comfortable, and am sure I would have thought it garish in 1923, too… I find myself liking it for its upholstery and aviation themed design.

Nyahh. Short. Thanks, though.

About mreman47

Andrew was born in London, UK, raised in Toronto, Canada, and cavorted in Ohtawara, Japan for three years. He is married, has a son and a cat. He has over 35,000 comic books and a plethora of pioneer aviation-related tobacco and sports cards and likes to build LEGO dioramas. Along with writing for a monthly industrial magazine, he also writes comic books and hates writing in the 3rd person. He also hates having to write this crap that no one will ever read. Along with the daily Japan - It's A Wonderful Rife blog, when he feels the hate, will also write another blog entitled: You Know What I Hate? He also works on his Pioneers Of Aviation - a cool blog on early fliers. He also wants to do more writing - for money, though. Help him out so he can stop talking in the 3rd person.
This entry was posted in Aviation Art, Heavier-Than-Air and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

